National Novel Writing Month

Today is Day 3 of National Novel Writing Month, and my current word count is 0. I wish I could say that I was at 5 or 6 K like some of my other writing friends, but unfortunately life has gotten in the way.

When you are in high school, people tell you that Junior year is the hardest year. I personally think the same is true for college, but it is different than in high school. Not only are you going through rigorous academics (especially as a science major), but you also have to start looking at real life and the dreaded question of what do you want to do after graduation.

Looking back, I can’t believe how much time has flown. Four years ago, I started The Fallen Crown. It was my second time doing Nano and the first time that I won it. Four years ago, if someone asked me what I thought would happen, I would’ve never said that I would be in the process of trying to get the book published.

While it is a bit of a disappointment that I won’t be taking part in Nano, knowing that it is this month is reminding me to keep writing even if it’s not for Nano. This month, my goal is to write a little bit everyday even if it is just a sentence or to. With all the craziness in my life, this seems like a much more reasonable goal than trying to complete a 50K novel.

Good luck to any of my fellow writers that are competing in Nano this year. To my readers who have done it before, how many years have you done?

Look forward to hearing from you!

Bethany

P.S. Part 4 of High Stakes went up today. Click here to check it out.

Leave a Reply

