Bleeding Reds

Hello to the outside world,

I’ve spent the majority of my summer working through the first 50 pages of The Fallen Empress. Progress is slowly going, but it’s still moving forward.

This is by far one of the most extensive reviews and edit I’ve done before. There are lots of notecards and red pens being used and I’m only through the first seven chapters. (Only thirteen more chapters to go.) I think my plan of getting this done before I go back to school may not happen.

My pages are literally bleeding red. Each page brings more book surgery and I’ve seriously considered just scrapping the whole thing and starting over.

IMG_0805
So much red

Several weeks ago, my family got a new kitten. She likes to dash around the house like her tail is on fire. I have to be super careful not to leave my pages and notecards out unattended. If I do, they will most likely end up scattered across the house, either that or chewed on. But today, she was being somewhat mellow and was my writing buddy for some of the afternoon. That was until she discovered that my pen would make a fun toy.

IMG_0806
Jemma, my writing buddy

While this process has definitely had some ups and downs, even more so for this book, I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Until next time,

Bethany

Leave a Reply

